Who's online: simmac18, robnicko, Guests: 100
  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    25 Apr 2012 08:02 PM

     Hi,

    Ive just bought my first Harley after a lifetime of wanting one. It's a 85 fxst. I'm wanting to get a set of 12inch ape hangers put on it and am wondering if anyone could give me a rough idea on how much it could cost. Will I need new cables for the ape hangers?

    Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

     

  • Frank7214 Posts: 573
    Performance Poster Frank7214
    25 Apr 2012 09:46 PM

    From a Harley dealer, about $1000.00 labour only.

  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    25 Apr 2012 10:07 PM

    Yeah I think I'll avoid the dealerships and find a local mechanic. Hopefully they're a bit more affordable.

    Thanks 

  • hmmm Posts: 0
    hmmm
    25 Apr 2012 10:11 PM
    its not that hard.do it yaself.just get the right size cables and a factory workshop manual
  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    25 Apr 2012 10:38 PM

    Not exactly good with tools but I was thinking of having a go at it. I'll check it out, thanks

  • The Ox Posts: 157
    Stock Poster The Ox
    26 Apr 2012 10:14 AM

    Cost me $700 for labour.

  • mon_4u2c Posts: 413
    Sydney
    Stage 1 Poster mon_4u2c
    26 Apr 2012 10:25 AM

    I've been quoted between $600 - $800 approx depending if you need to change your cables.

    $121 per hr

  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    26 Apr 2012 11:44 AM

     Thanks for the info, I'm going to get some quotes tomorrow.

    Thanks

  • hmmm Posts: 0
    hmmm
    26 Apr 2012 12:26 PM
    I done mine in a day and a half and most of that was running the wires inside the bars(tight bends).just took my time and had a few beers doing it.if it gets too much for you,walk away,have a beer n then go back to it.i enjoyed doing it and saved myself hundreds $$$$.
  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    26 Apr 2012 02:53 PM

     That might be the way to go. Not sure if I'll go internal wiring which will be easier.

    Thanks

  • kiwidave Posts: 2864
    Melbourne
    Forum Legend kiwidave
    26 Apr 2012 06:07 PM
    Great choice of bike!!! Still got the kicker?

    Yeah, really do it yourself. It is timeconsuming, but satisfying. Not at all hard, just ''fiddly''. That's why it costs a fortune at the shop.

    Where you based?

  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    26 Apr 2012 08:30 PM

     Thanks mate, i couln't be happier with it. No kicker anymore. Can't decide if that's a good thing or not. I had a look today and think i might have a go at the bars. It has pull back drag bars on it now so the cables might actually already be long enough. I'm in eastern Sydney.

  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    26 Apr 2012 08:32 PM

      Thanks mate, i couln't be happier with it. No kicker anymore. Can't decide if that's a good thing or not. I had a look today and think i might have a go at the bars. It has pull back drag bars on it now so the cables might actually already be long enough. I'm in eastern Sydney.

  • Train Posts: 363
    Stage 1 Poster Train
    27 Apr 2012 01:51 PM

    Do it yourself mate .......... weekend, a service manual and a few beers and you are done.

    Just remember to loosen your clutch cable before you take it off ..... don't ask me how I know

  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    27 Apr 2012 02:23 PM

     Thanks for the advice, I'm going to have a crack at it and see how I go. Thanks again

  • jimmy88 Posts: 5
    Stock Poster jimmy88
    29 Apr 2012 08:35 AM
    I did mine myself, they are 16's though, I had to purchase new cables, wire for the extended wiring and brake fluid. I got away for $500 all inclusive and that was with braided lines. My local motorcycle mechanic wanted $360 for labour to install, so i had a crack (not being great with mechanics) and got it done and wired ready to ride by the end of the day. Saved myself enough to buy a set of pipes I had my eye on ;)
  • Emperor15 Posts: 48
    Stock Poster Emperor15
    29 Apr 2012 04:54 PM

     Thanks for the info jimmy. Did you internally wire them? I don't think I'll have to get new cables which will make it easier.

© 2017 - 1.0.3.2