Who's online: red44, blueystar, AussieLowRider, HDGed, Wideglider, Guests: 272
  • Ratbob Posts: 869
    Adelaide Hills
    Performance Poster Ratbob
    05 Jan 2019 09:50 AM
    You can connect your tuner to a pc and save the map to the pc, that way you can maintain a separate copy and also look in the file to see if the ACR was turned on without connecting the bike. 
    Also check with your tuner, many of them keep copies of their tunes.
  • Ratbob Posts: 869
    Adelaide Hills
    Performance Poster Ratbob
    05 Jan 2019 04:10 PM
    Hi VT, Looks like apologies are in order. I haven’t used my tuner for 5 years or so but I was convinced that’s how I did it, so I got it out and you’re right the files aren’t available from the tuner, only the ones I’ve saved to the pc. 
    So I grabbed my old laptop, took it to the bike and connected it up. The files on the tuner can be opened and it did not flash the bike with a stock tune which I don’t think it could do anyway because it doesn’t have a stock tune on file. 
    Thinking back I recall some comments about the over-righting issue but it didn’t happen to me back then when I went in to check the ACR and drop the idle to 944. Maybe as a precaution call your tuner and ask if he saved only the new file to your tuner. What bike are you checking?
  • robots Posts: 1151
    Performance Poster robots
    06 Jan 2019 10:55 AM
    yes pretty average stuff

    how can you trust them to give correct map?
  • Ken in Cairns Posts: 319
    Cairns FNQ
    Stage 1 Poster Ken in Cairns
    06 Jan 2019 01:36 PM
    my map does the same when I try and download it on the pc. If it is in the ecu how come you cant save it onto the tuner again is what I want ro know.

  • robots Posts: 1151
    Performance Poster robots
    07 Jan 2019 07:30 PM
    Yeah not good

    Most you can't trust.  But they get lots of money thrown at them and they do as they like. 

    There point (hd forum) that you get a dyno tune and not a map is just baloney. Do a dyno tune without the map??

    All bikes are different,  haha good one

  • Ratbob Posts: 869
    Adelaide Hills
    Performance Poster Ratbob
    07 Jan 2019 11:02 PM
    Thanks for the update VT and for the heads up that Thundertech won’t save the tune to your tuner. I wouldn’t be using them. That’s a crap practice, what if the ECU fails and you or the next owner needs to reload the tune. Could be years down the track. 
    I bought my bike from the third owner, came with the tuner and file,  so I never thought it unusual.
    I’m wondering if there’s any recourse through Consumer Affairs. 

  • Ken in Cairns Posts: 319
    Cairns FNQ
    Stage 1 Poster Ken in Cairns
    08 Jan 2019 12:41 PM
    I had the same thoughts about the map being locked, I would have liked to at least see what the AFR's were set at. However disapointing it is I guess the custom map is the tuners intellectual property , or that is the justification for it. 
    Another reason to look at a different tuner with wide band oxygen senors down the track. 

  • fatbat Posts: 2793
    Forum Legend fatbat
    08 Jan 2019 04:56 PM
    That’s poor form. They may have used their know how to make the tune but you purchased it as far as I’m concerned and entitled to the file. 

    They probably intend to protect their tuning business by this but imho it doesnt effectively do this and does the opposite. Every engine is different after all and most of us run different combinations of parts. Anyone that wants the best performance and ride is gonna have their bike dyno tuned anyway and not use or replicate someone else’s file. Do they really think they have special secrets in their files that no one else knows such as other tuners, and info freely available on the net?

    I would have thought businesses would be best served by good tuning work coupled by word of mouth of happy customers. But maybe they can do whatever they like with little to no competition over there 
© 2019 - 1.0.4.2