Who's online: Jed63, Iron, Smokey61, Moulis, paulybronco, SONNY D, spacewolf, Meatbag, Krackers60, Leary360, Guests: 141
  • xthommox Posts: 50
    Stock Poster xthommox
    09 Jan 2019 02:39 PM
    Hi, I'm on the Central Coast and was wondering if anyone has done the swap over from factory bars to 12" apes and can help me, or do the job yourself? I'm not confident in doing it and before I take it to the stealership I thought someone here might like a few bucks ($100), or the grog mentioned above, to do the job. 2013 Fatboy Lo. Cheers.
  • Drac Posts: 181
    Brisbane
    Stock Poster Drac
    09 Jan 2019 06:00 PM
    I can help if ya wanna ride up to Brisbane to do it
  • xthommox Posts: 50
    Stock Poster xthommox
    10 Jan 2019 07:32 AM
    Quoting Drac on 09 Jan 2019 06:00 PM
    I can help if ya wanna ride up to Brisbane to do it
    Thanks Drac. Might just be a bit costly!! lol
  • Fat Tom Posts: 126
    WA Wheatbelt
    Stock Poster Fat Tom
    11 Jan 2019 12:45 AM
    Hey, I did the same change over myself. Do you realise how much work is involved not just with the bars but also the cable swaps? If you don't have the confidence then I highly advise you to take it straight to the bike shop and get them to do it. There are too many things that can go wrong if not done right and then it will cost you double. Just my opinion
  • xthommox Posts: 50
    Stock Poster xthommox
    11 Jan 2019 08:12 AM
    Hi Tom,

    yeah you're right. Thought it may be a simpler (but tricky), job for a person that's done it a few times. Yeah you don't want someone stuffing up your brakes. Stealership here I come.
  • WideglidingNZ Posts: 116
    Stock Poster WideglidingNZ
    11 Jan 2019 11:06 AM
    Quoting xthommox on 11 Jan 2019 08:12 AM
    Hi Tom,

    yeah you're right. Thought it may be a simpler (but tricky), job for a person that's done it a few times. Yeah you don't want someone stuffing up your brakes. Stealership here I come.
    I've also seen a few wiring disasters also (dodgy connections) 
  • Fat Tom Posts: 126
    WA Wheatbelt
    Stock Poster Fat Tom
    11 Jan 2019 05:45 PM
    When I changed mine over I found I didn't need to change the clutch and throttle cables, but I did need a new front brake cable. Just one way you can save a bit of money as they can be pricey and there is a bit involved in changing them over. You will not really know until you put your new bars on. Good luckHD Forums Australia - P1110167.JPG

© 2019 - 1.0.4.2