Who's online: steelo, baldy1450, HOG63, Deluxe2018, berserker, Guests: 434
  • Ratbob Posts: 993
    Adelaide Hills
    Performance Poster Ratbob
    08 Jul 2019 08:23 AM
    Trying to get 2/1 pipes but having trouble with model numbers, neither dealer nor manufacturer have been able or willing to clarify.

    So dealer says no matter, you’ll need a tune anyway so if my O2 Sensors don’t fit (18mm) remove them and tune the bike accordingly.  

    I’ve seen a few Vrods with the sensors removed but has anyone done this with their Dyna?

    Is it a good or bad thing to do? 
    On Vrods it’s bloody ugly.

  • Grease Monkey Posts: 513
    Performance Poster Grease Monkey
    08 Jul 2019 10:36 AM
    Mate any dealer or supplier that can't tell you if an exhaust is going to fit and be correct for your 02 sensor's should be avoided like the plague.
    Don't remove them, you cripple an otherwise robust and competent ECM, find a shop that knows it's shit and if you are unable to tune it yourself get it done by someone who can.
  • tussuck Posts: 1822
    Melbourne
    Motor Head tussuck
    08 Jul 2019 10:41 AM
    The ECU needs this information to keep fuelling in the zone.  I think the ECU would have a dummy spit if it does not see a signal.
  • loopie Posts: 460
    Stage 1 Poster loopie
    08 Jul 2019 11:11 AM
    Quoting Ratbob on 08 Jul 2019 08:23 AM
    Trying to get 2/1 pipes but having trouble with model numbers, neither dealer nor manufacturer have been able or willing to clarify.

    So dealer says no matter, you’ll need a tune anyway so if my O2 Sensors don’t fit (18mm) remove them and tune the bike accordingly.  

    I’ve seen a few Vrods with the sensors removed but has anyone done this with their Dyna?

    Is it a good or bad thing to do? 
    On Vrods it’s bloody ugly.

    2007 dyna with power commander 3. No sensors been like it for about 12 years.  VH pipes They supply bungs as standard fitment.    I flash the power commander about every 2 years with free map off power commander site. Their tune is good enough for me im not chasin hi horse power.. Also some guys say u cant change spark plug wires as it upsets the ion sensor.    BULLSHIT
  • Grease Monkey Posts: 513
    Performance Poster Grease Monkey
    08 Jul 2019 11:32 AM
    Quoting Ratbob on 08 Jul 2019 08:23 AM
    Trying to get 2/1 pipes but having trouble with model numbers, neither dealer nor manufacturer have been able or willing to clarify.

    So dealer says no matter, you’ll need a tune anyway so if my O2 Sensors don’t fit (18mm) remove them and tune the bike accordingly.  

    I’ve seen a few Vrods with the sensors removed but has anyone done this with their Dyna?

    Is it a good or bad thing to do? 
    On Vrods it’s bloody ugly.

    Quoting loopie on 08 Jul 2019 11:11 AMedited: 08 Jul 2019 11:16 AM
    2007 dyna with power commander 3. No sensors been like it for about 12 years.  VH pipes They supply bungs as standard fitment.    I flash the power commander about every 2 years with free map off power commander site. Their tune is good enough for me im not chasin hi horse power.. Also some guys say u cant change spark plug wires as it upsets the ion sensor.    BULLSHIT
    Yes you can go pclll or equivalent way but it dumbs down the system and non standard wires can upset the ion sensing whether or not you want to believe it, as for flashed in tunes, the best you know is the best you've had.
  • tussuck Posts: 1822
    Melbourne
    Motor Head tussuck
    08 Jul 2019 12:46 PM

    Ahhh... I had assumed that all after market units were O2 sensor based, so have leaned something here. 

    I'm a Wideband O2 Thundermax with Autotune so kind of just install and forget type situation.

  • loopie Posts: 460
    Stage 1 Poster loopie
    08 Jul 2019 02:05 PM
    Quoting Ratbob on 08 Jul 2019 08:23 AM
    Trying to get 2/1 pipes but having trouble with model numbers, neither dealer nor manufacturer have been able or willing to clarify.

    So dealer says no matter, you’ll need a tune anyway so if my O2 Sensors don’t fit (18mm) remove them and tune the bike accordingly.  

    I’ve seen a few Vrods with the sensors removed but has anyone done this with their Dyna?

    Is it a good or bad thing to do? 
    On Vrods it’s bloody ugly.

    Quoting loopie on 08 Jul 2019 11:11 AMedited: 08 Jul 2019 11:16 AM
    2007 dyna with power commander 3. No sensors been like it for about 12 years.  VH pipes They supply bungs as standard fitment.    I flash the power commander about every 2 years with free map off power commander site. Their tune is good enough for me im not chasin hi horse power.. Also some guys say u cant change spark plug wires as it upsets the ion sensor.    BULLSHIT
    Quoting Grease Monkey on 08 Jul 2019 11:32 AM
    Yes you can go pclll or equivalent way but it dumbs down the system and non standard wires can upset the ion sensing whether or not you want to believe it, as for flashed in tunes, the best you know is the best you've had.
    Also didnt notice any issues for the last 4 years running accel coil on plug system. The discussion about wires is like oil every one is different...    If im chasin. A high powered bike it wouldnt be a harley. Ive owned some fuckin quick jap bikes
     The reason why ive brought a harley. Go slow now
  • Grease Monkey Posts: 513
    Performance Poster Grease Monkey
    08 Jul 2019 03:57 PM
    Quoting loopie on 08 Jul 2019 11:11 AMedited: 08 Jul 2019 11:16 AM
    2007 dyna with power commander 3. No sensors been like it for about 12 years.  VH pipes They supply bungs as standard fitment.    I flash the power commander about every 2 years with free map off power commander site. Their tune is good enough for me im not chasin hi horse power.. Also some guys say u cant change spark plug wires as it upsets the ion sensor.    BULLSHIT
    Quoting Grease Monkey on 08 Jul 2019 11:32 AM
    Yes you can go pclll or equivalent way but it dumbs down the system and non standard wires can upset the ion sensing whether or not you want to believe it, as for flashed in tunes, the best you know is the best you've had.
    Quoting loopie on 08 Jul 2019 02:05 PMedited: 08 Jul 2019 02:07 PM
    Also didnt notice any issues for the last 4 years running accel coil on plug system. The discussion about wires is like oil every one is different...    If im chasin. A high powered bike it wouldnt be a harley. Ive owned some fuckin quick jap bikes
     The reason why ive brought a harley. Go slow now
    Good for you cobber.
  • Ratbob Posts: 993
    Adelaide Hills
    Performance Poster Ratbob
    08 Jul 2019 09:42 PM
    Thanks lads, I guess I should say I'm using the old Super Tuner and I also don't see sense nor value in dropping the sensors.
    My problem with identifying the correct pipe model is that neither the dealer nor Vance and Hines will tell me which product number belongs to the following style of pipes.
    HD Forums Australia - 28003_1.jpg  

    HD Forums Australia - VH28029.jpg

    I reckon the top style for my 2009 110 Dyna is 28003 (I numbered the pictures) and the bottom style is 28029 but when I ask the V&H Support desk which is which all they say is 28029 for both style of pipes.  When I look at the V&H site for 28029 it shows a pic of the bottom style pipe but the fitment sheet for that pipe shows a pic of the top pipe so even the dealer's confused.  Unfortunately I can't find the top pipe listed anywhere on the V&H site but they are available elsewhere online but sellers always state that the picture is indicative and may not be the same as the pipe I'd receive.


  • Grease Monkey Posts: 513
    Performance Poster Grease Monkey
    08 Jul 2019 10:07 PM
    Top pic is 06-11, bottom 12 up, if it's tip orientation that's bugging you I'm thinking it can rotate a little each way, pretty sure anyway, only messed with one of them, it was off a 10 Softail, welded 12mm bungs in it and bent it to fit a 12 Street glide and miss the bags.
© 2019 - 1.0.4.2