Who's online: Darth.Crag, Guests: 262
  • George Black Posts: 8
    Stock Poster George Black
    03 Sep 2019 12:04 PM
    Hi guys.

    So I want to change the handlebars on my 2014 xl883n iron. 
    I am interested in this Zodiac Tomahawk 12" look
    https://www.google.com/search?q=zodiac+tomahawk&client=ms-android-telstra-au&prmd=isnv&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiro7juxrPkAhUm8XMBHauFBF4Q_AUoAXoECA0QAQ&biw=360&bih=612#imgrc=SQZbAl_vKx5n9M
     and I would like to know what cables I need to buy. The dealer quoted me $800 for the cables, but after having a look online I saw some cables for $50-200.

    Which ones are the proper cables that I need?
    Doesn't $800 just for the cables sound too much?
  • tussuck Posts: 1955
    Melbourne
    Motor Head tussuck
    03 Sep 2019 12:52 PM
    Quoting George Black on 03 Sep 2019 12:04 PM
    Hi guys.

    So I want to change the handlebars on my 2014 xl883n iron. 
    I am interested in this Zodiac Tomahawk 12" look
    https://www.google.com/search?q=zodiac+tomahawk&client=ms-android-telstra-au&prmd=isnv&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiro7juxrPkAhUm8XMBHauFBF4Q_AUoAXoECA0QAQ&biw=360&bih=612#imgrc=SQZbAl_vKx5n9M
     and I would like to know what cables I need to buy. The dealer quoted me $800 for the cables, but after having a look online I saw some cables for $50-200.

    Which ones are the proper cables that I need?
    Doesn't $800 just for the cables sound too much?
    The term Dealer and Handlebar swap ALWAYS equals a ton of money!  (Given its actually an easy job they just milk it for all its worth)  

    So by cables I presume your talking about Clutch, Brake and Throttle + Electrical, so the price from the dealer is their normal over the top 500% markup one.  I just did the same exercise and here are my findings:

    -  Whats the 'new' height of the bars compared to the old?  ie exactly how much higher are they than the stock ones?  I went from stock to 12" on my 2009 Sporty and needed to extend the wiring, Throttle cables & Brake line, and while I did not do the clutch it could do with an extra 1" in length at some stage.  Some bars do not need all this as the new height delta is small enough to not be an issue.  I think I went with a 2" extension system (or was it 4"; I cannot remember)
    -  I bought a $50 cable extension 'kit' on eBay for my model bike and then fitted it over the course of a half day.  Its actually really easy to do.  The kit i got was an 'extender' kit so you remove the pins from the connectors under the tank and then install the extension cables and heatshrink over the joiner.  Works well and if you take your time and draw picture first then easy as.
    - I also used the opportunity to run ALL the electrical cables internally within the handlebar for a WAY cleaner look.  The issue with taller bars is that the clutter of external run cables starts to mess up the aesthetic so going internal is the answer.  Are you planning this?  If so then ask about the bars your buying and make sure they support internal cables.  As you new ones are welded at the riser to handgrip area I am suspicious that there is no hole there to run the cables down the tube. {forget this as I just read that they support internal wires}
    -  Ditch the stock brake line and get a good flexible one that you can conform to the bar shape.


  • George Black Posts: 8
    Stock Poster George Black
    03 Sep 2019 01:30 PM
    Tussuck I wish I had some knowledge to do it myself. 
    I will find out the difference of the heigh between the handlebars and come back to post.
    I want to buy the cables if there is a big difference of heigh, for their normal price without the dealer ripping me off, so Ill need some help in finding the correct ones.


  • Wideglider Posts: 655
    NSW
    Performance Poster Wideglider
    03 Sep 2019 05:50 PM
    Changed my bars myself a few years back, it can be tricky & time consuming, especially running electrical cables through and mounting switchblocks can also be fiddly.
    To be fair to the dealers, job can take a few hours - hence the higher quote, so best to do it yourself.

  • Birtyyy Posts: 109
    Melbourne
    Stock Poster Birtyyy
    04 Sep 2019 08:18 AM
    Yeh, the only way to not get ripped off is do it yourself. As mentioned it's not a difficult job, just time consuming. But I'd rather spend my time doing it than pay top dollar for someone else's time.
  • Big Steve Posts: 665
    Yarra Ranges
    Performance Poster Big Steve
    04 Sep 2019 03:59 PM
    Where are you located?

    There are plenty of good independent workshops around that will do a better job cheaper.
  • George Black Posts: 8
    Stock Poster George Black
    06 Sep 2019 02:14 PM
    Quoting Big Steve on 04 Sep 2019 03:59 PMedited: 04 Sep 2019 03:59 PM
    Where are you located?

    There are plenty of good independent workshops around that will do a better job cheaper.
    Im at Brighton Le Sands Sydney.
    The bike is under warranty so Im not sure if I can get somebody else to run the cables through.
    What is your experience in this matter? (Question to all)
  • Big Steve Posts: 665
    Yarra Ranges
    Performance Poster Big Steve
    11 Sep 2019 11:40 AM
    I'd find a reputable independenat mechanic who specialises in harleys to do the install.

    I can't see how that will void your warranty. (But hey its the Moco I wouldn't be surprised if they tried it on)
  • Ken in Cairns Posts: 394
    Cairns FNQ
    Stage 1 Poster Ken in Cairns
    12 Sep 2019 07:35 AM
    If it is a qualified mechanic/shop doing the work using parts that are fit for purpose it shouldn't effect your warrantee, same as using an Indy for service work can't effect your warrantee under Australian law.
  • George Black Posts: 8
    Stock Poster George Black
    13 Sep 2019 01:12 PM
    Thank you for your replies.
    Ill update once I get the job done
© 2019 - 1.0.4.2