Who's online: brush, fikmik, sherpa, Guests: 301
  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    25 Sep 2019 09:19 AM

    Hi all,

    Firstly my apologies if this has been covered before, I have done a search and could not find anything.

    I have a 2017 Ultra with the Boom 6.5. Recently the touch screen started to peel which looked a bit shite but otherwise worked OK. So I went to the dealer and they have replaced it for me. Apparently there is a protective cover over the screen which was peeling. All good. However, a couple of days later I went to put in some map coordinates using the touchscreen and nothing would respond to the touches. All other functions seem to be working OK ie radio, Navigation etc. Just cannot use the touch screen function at all.

    Have gone back to the dealer and they replaced the screen again for me but with the same result. Have been advised to go with it for a few weeks and see if it comes good. This is a bit annoying as at the moment I am travelling and using the screen to input navigation waypoints rather than the little button on the RHS grip is a lot easier.

    Has anyone else come across this and what was the cure? Thanks in advance.

    Cheers

    Wade.

  • Chaser Posts: 279
    Stage 1 Poster Chaser
    25 Sep 2019 09:28 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 25 Sep 2019 09:19 AM

    Hi all,

    Firstly my apologies if this has been covered before, I have done a search and could not find anything.

    I have a 2017 Ultra with the Boom 6.5. Recently the touch screen started to peel which looked a bit shite but otherwise worked OK. So I went to the dealer and they have replaced it for me. Apparently there is a protective cover over the screen which was peeling. All good. However, a couple of days later I went to put in some map coordinates using the touchscreen and nothing would respond to the touches. All other functions seem to be working OK ie radio, Navigation etc. Just cannot use the touch screen function at all.

    Have gone back to the dealer and they replaced the screen again for me but with the same result. Have been advised to go with it for a few weeks and see if it comes good. This is a bit annoying as at the moment I am travelling and using the screen to input navigation waypoints rather than the little button on the RHS grip is a lot easier.

    Has anyone else come across this and what was the cure? Thanks in advance.

    Cheers

    Wade.

    "Have been advised to go with it for a few weeks and see if it comes good"  is code for we have no idea and hope you go away and forget about it!  That's ridiculous!!!  I'd demand they try ANOTHER unit and then run some serious diagnostics to work it out.  
  • steelo Posts: 2730
    Adelaide
    Forum Legend steelo
    25 Sep 2019 09:38 AM
    Hi wade, could you have used more than 60 waypoints? I heard that can freeze the unit.
    Else, try a factory reset including touch screen
    Copied from another harley forum

    Originally Posted by Ghostrider1967 View Post
    This is out of the 2014 Touring electrial diagnostic manual. Maybe try this? To enter the service menu:
    1. Turn IGN OFF. Wait 15 seconds.
    2. Press and hold power/mute button. Turn IGN? to ACC.
    3. Continue to press power button for 2 seconds after the WARNING screen is displayed.
    4. Release power/mute button and accept warning.
    The service menu may display Diag Service not Availiable when a menu option is initially selected. This message will clear once the system has finished performing the power-on process. Options are: DTCs, Audio, Display, Key input, Component menus, Version info, Reset, Touchscreen.
    Reset: Pre-calibration reset: Restores fatory default settings. This is recommended when there are radio symptoms and no DTCs*
    Post calibration save: Archives customers settings so that they can be restored after a Post calibration Reset.
    Post calibration reset: Resets the radio to factory default settings and restores the last archive data stored during Post calibration Save. Give it a whirl? Let me know if this works?

  • DocGreen Posts: 312
    Illawarra NSW
    Stage 1 Poster DocGreen
    25 Sep 2019 11:40 AM
    Mate, probably a stupid suggestion, but is there a protective film on the protective screen? Bit like fitting new phone screen protectors.

    DocGreen
  • Chaser Posts: 279
    Stage 1 Poster Chaser
    26 Sep 2019 08:27 AM
    Quoting DocGreen on 25 Sep 2019 11:40 AM
    Mate, probably a stupid suggestion, but is there a protective film on the protective screen? Bit like fitting new phone screen protectors.

    DocGreen
    Good point however shouldn't make a difference.  I do know however it won't work with gloves on.
  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    27 Sep 2019 08:54 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 25 Sep 2019 09:19 AM

    Hi all,

    Firstly my apologies if this has been covered before, I have done a search and could not find anything.

    I have a 2017 Ultra with the Boom 6.5. Recently the touch screen started to peel which looked a bit shite but otherwise worked OK. So I went to the dealer and they have replaced it for me. Apparently there is a protective cover over the screen which was peeling. All good. However, a couple of days later I went to put in some map coordinates using the touchscreen and nothing would respond to the touches. All other functions seem to be working OK ie radio, Navigation etc. Just cannot use the touch screen function at all.

    Have gone back to the dealer and they replaced the screen again for me but with the same result. Have been advised to go with it for a few weeks and see if it comes good. This is a bit annoying as at the moment I am travelling and using the screen to input navigation waypoints rather than the little button on the RHS grip is a lot easier.

    Has anyone else come across this and what was the cure? Thanks in advance.

    Cheers

    Wade.

    Quoting Chaser on 25 Sep 2019 09:28 AM
    "Have been advised to go with it for a few weeks and see if it comes good"  is code for we have no idea and hope you go away and forget about it!  That's ridiculous!!!  I'd demand they try ANOTHER unit and then run some serious diagnostics to work it out.  

    Chaser,


    Yes agree with you on that one... They have tried three covers now and do not seem to be able to work it out. Next visit will be to leave the bike there till it is sorted.


    Cheers


    Wade

  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    27 Sep 2019 09:00 AM
    Quoting steelo on 25 Sep 2019 09:38 AMedited: 25 Sep 2019 09:58 AM
    Hi wade, could you have used more than 60 waypoints? I heard that can freeze the unit.
    Else, try a factory reset including touch screen
    Copied from another harley forum

    Originally Posted by Ghostrider1967 View Post
    This is out of the 2014 Touring electrial diagnostic manual. Maybe try this? To enter the service menu:
    1. Turn IGN OFF. Wait 15 seconds.
    2. Press and hold power/mute button. Turn IGN? to ACC.
    3. Continue to press power button for 2 seconds after the WARNING screen is displayed.
    4. Release power/mute button and accept warning.
    The service menu may display Diag Service not Availiable when a menu option is initially selected. This message will clear once the system has finished performing the power-on process. Options are: DTCs, Audio, Display, Key input, Component menus, Version info, Reset, Touchscreen.
    Reset: Pre-calibration reset: Restores fatory default settings. This is recommended when there are radio symptoms and no DTCs*
    Post calibration save: Archives customers settings so that they can be restored after a Post calibration Reset.
    Post calibration reset: Resets the radio to factory default settings and restores the last archive data stored during Post calibration Save. Give it a whirl? Let me know if this works?

    Steelo,

    Thanks for the input. Have not used more than 60 waypoints but cleared them all anyway in case this is the problem. No luck

    Tried the reset as suggested but still no luck.

    Cheers,

    Wade

  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    27 Sep 2019 09:07 AM
    Quoting DocGreen on 25 Sep 2019 11:40 AM
    Mate, probably a stupid suggestion, but is there a protective film on the protective screen? Bit like fitting new phone screen protectors.

    DocGreen

    DocGreen,

    Yes, understand what you mean, I removed the protector and had a good look but as far as I can see there isn't an additional layer. With the protector removed from the radio the screen works when touched but when the protector is put back on it stops working again. This would seem to indicate that the issue is with the protector or at least compatibility between the protector and the radio and not the radio itself.

    Thanks for the suggestion though.

    Cheers,

    Wade

  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    27 Sep 2019 09:19 AM
    Quoting DocGreen on 25 Sep 2019 11:40 AM
    Mate, probably a stupid suggestion, but is there a protective film on the protective screen? Bit like fitting new phone screen protectors.

    DocGreen
    Quoting Chaser on 26 Sep 2019 08:27 AM
    Good point however shouldn't make a difference.  I do know however it won't work with gloves on.

    Chaser,

    That is the funny thing, the original protector was peeling on the surface as if it had a very thin layer that should have been pulled off at delivery but the screen worked great with or without gloves, even my really thick winter gloves. It just looked like total shite.

    I am at a bit of a loss on this. Going to go to our local computer shop this afternoon and get a protector for a tablet PC and cut it down to size.

    Cheers,

    Wade.

  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    30 Sep 2019 09:09 AM

    OK, so I upgraded the unit to the latest software version over the weekend but still no luck. Am back in town during the week so will try to get a screen protector from Hardly Normal and see if this works.

    Cheers,

    Wade

  • Soapbox2627 Posts: 3415
    Whyalla South Australia
    Forum Legend Soapbox2627
    30 Sep 2019 05:26 PM
    Quoting wadewilson on 30 Sep 2019 09:09 AM

    OK, so I upgraded the unit to the latest software version over the weekend but still no luck. Am back in town during the week so will try to get a screen protector from Hardly Normal and see if this works.

    Cheers,

    Wade

    I would buy one from ebay, they will be a quarter the price, you only have to wait for it to arrive,
  • DocGreen Posts: 312
    Illawarra NSW
    Stage 1 Poster DocGreen
    12 Dec 2019 07:24 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 30 Sep 2019 09:09 AM

    OK, so I upgraded the unit to the latest software version over the weekend but still no luck. Am back in town during the week so will try to get a screen protector from Hardly Normal and see if this works.

    Cheers,

    Wade

    Hey mate, interested on how you went with this issue? 

    DocGreen
  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    12 Dec 2019 09:27 AM

    Doc,


    Gave up on the dealership in the end, really felt like it was just too much bother for them. This is a bit of a shame really cause I know the owner and he is a really good guy. I had a load of work to be done on my bike as it is now out of warranty and have been looking elsewhere to get the work done. Total cost of mods was quoted at about $4k but I guess they will not get that now.


    Anyway, ended up getting a screen protector kit from Hardly Normal. From memory it was about $20 and has two sheets to suit a large screen tablet so enough to do four of the screens on my bike. Used the HD one as a template and cut it down to size then stuck it on and all good. Not too sure how well this will hold up in the weather but it has been on for a couple of months now and is not showing any signs of deterioration. My bike is ridden every day and parked outside in the weather while I am at work. I have used the same screen protector on the tablet I have in my 4wd and it has held up for several years now.


    Cheers


    Wade

  • wello Posts: 229
    Stock Poster wello
    12 Dec 2019 10:44 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 12 Dec 2019 09:27 AM

    Doc,


    Gave up on the dealership in the end, really felt like it was just too much bother for them. This is a bit of a shame really cause I know the owner and he is a really good guy. I had a load of work to be done on my bike as it is now out of warranty and have been looking elsewhere to get the work done. Total cost of mods was quoted at about $4k but I guess they will not get that now.


    Anyway, ended up getting a screen protector kit from Hardly Normal. From memory it was about $20 and has two sheets to suit a large screen tablet so enough to do four of the screens on my bike. Used the HD one as a template and cut it down to size then stuck it on and all good. Not too sure how well this will hold up in the weather but it has been on for a couple of months now and is not showing any signs of deterioration. My bike is ridden every day and parked outside in the weather while I am at work. I have used the same screen protector on the tablet I have in my 4wd and it has held up for several years now.


    Cheers


    Wade

    ok so just to recap ! .. all is working how it should now without the harley screen protecter on , and using a cut to size aftermarket one  ?? ... just interested to know as i have a 2014 ultra that im trading for a new 2020 .. so no issues with the old one but im wondering if i will end up with same issues maybe with the new one .
  • DocGreen Posts: 312
    Illawarra NSW
    Stage 1 Poster DocGreen
    12 Dec 2019 11:51 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 12 Dec 2019 09:27 AM

    Doc,


    Gave up on the dealership in the end, really felt like it was just too much bother for them. This is a bit of a shame really cause I know the owner and he is a really good guy. I had a load of work to be done on my bike as it is now out of warranty and have been looking elsewhere to get the work done. Total cost of mods was quoted at about $4k but I guess they will not get that now.


    Anyway, ended up getting a screen protector kit from Hardly Normal. From memory it was about $20 and has two sheets to suit a large screen tablet so enough to do four of the screens on my bike. Used the HD one as a template and cut it down to size then stuck it on and all good. Not too sure how well this will hold up in the weather but it has been on for a couple of months now and is not showing any signs of deterioration. My bike is ridden every day and parked outside in the weather while I am at work. I have used the same screen protector on the tablet I have in my 4wd and it has held up for several years now.


    Cheers


    Wade

    Quoting wello on 12 Dec 2019 10:44 AM
    ok so just to recap ! .. all is working how it should now without the harley screen protecter on , and using a cut to size aftermarket one  ?? ... just interested to know as i have a 2014 ultra that im trading for a new 2020 .. so no issues with the old one but im wondering if i will end up with same issues maybe with the new one .
    Wello, the 2020's have a different head unit mate so I don't think you can really compare. 
    In saying that,  I haven't heard much negative about the new unit and probably more positive.
    DocGreen
  • DocGreen Posts: 312
    Illawarra NSW
    Stage 1 Poster DocGreen
    12 Dec 2019 11:56 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 12 Dec 2019 09:27 AM

    Doc,


    Gave up on the dealership in the end, really felt like it was just too much bother for them. This is a bit of a shame really cause I know the owner and he is a really good guy. I had a load of work to be done on my bike as it is now out of warranty and have been looking elsewhere to get the work done. Total cost of mods was quoted at about $4k but I guess they will not get that now.


    Anyway, ended up getting a screen protector kit from Hardly Normal. From memory it was about $20 and has two sheets to suit a large screen tablet so enough to do four of the screens on my bike. Used the HD one as a template and cut it down to size then stuck it on and all good. Not too sure how well this will hold up in the weather but it has been on for a couple of months now and is not showing any signs of deterioration. My bike is ridden every day and parked outside in the weather while I am at work. I have used the same screen protector on the tablet I have in my 4wd and it has held up for several years now.


    Cheers


    Wade

    Good news about the win with the screen mate.
    Understand you probably don't want those guys working on your bike now but it's probably still worth feeding back to the owner how you feel,  a business is only as good as its employees. 
    Maybe a little recalibration attitude wise would help everyone there.

    DocGreen
  • wadewilson Posts: 65
    SA
    Stock Poster wadewilson
    14 Dec 2019 09:56 AM
    Quoting wadewilson on 12 Dec 2019 09:27 AM

    Doc,


    Gave up on the dealership in the end, really felt like it was just too much bother for them. This is a bit of a shame really cause I know the owner and he is a really good guy. I had a load of work to be done on my bike as it is now out of warranty and have been looking elsewhere to get the work done. Total cost of mods was quoted at about $4k but I guess they will not get that now.


    Anyway, ended up getting a screen protector kit from Hardly Normal. From memory it was about $20 and has two sheets to suit a large screen tablet so enough to do four of the screens on my bike. Used the HD one as a template and cut it down to size then stuck it on and all good. Not too sure how well this will hold up in the weather but it has been on for a couple of months now and is not showing any signs of deterioration. My bike is ridden every day and parked outside in the weather while I am at work. I have used the same screen protector on the tablet I have in my 4wd and it has held up for several years now.


    Cheers


    Wade

    Quoting wello on 12 Dec 2019 10:44 AM
    ok so just to recap ! .. all is working how it should now without the harley screen protecter on , and using a cut to size aftermarket one  ?? ... just interested to know as i have a 2014 ultra that im trading for a new 2020 .. so no issues with the old one but im wondering if i will end up with same issues maybe with the new one .
    Wello,

    I would not get too concerned over this and let it influence me in buying a new bike. I ride with quite a few other guys with the same radio and none of them have had this issue. I am just lucky I guess!!! But yes you are correct I removed the HD one and used a cut to size one from a tablet PC. All good now. I guess the best to come out of this is for anyone else that has the same issues we now know there is an alternative that works and will not cost a fortune to fix. Do not know how much the HD ones were as they were being replaced under warranty, just a PITA for me as it is about a one hour ride to the dealer each time to get it "fixed" and taking time off work time after time was wearing a bit thin with the boss.

    Just out of curiosity I placed the HD one over my tablet PC screen and it would not work on there either. This would seem to suggest that there is something wrong with the replacement ones HD were supplying to me.

    Wade
© 2020 - 1.0.4.2