Who's online: Guests: 164
  • Mono Posts: 12
    Qld
    Stock Poster Mono
    27 Nov 2019 03:45 PM
    Hi looking at getting a auto tuner for my low rider S. 
    Does anyone have any good an bad reviews on What's  the better options. 

    It a 117 cu, with heaps of mods it, it 136hp, 
    but I've never been happy with the tune, 
    So thought it I could dyna it with a autotune fitted ,, it maybe a better option,  

    The other reason is there's no real tuner close to where I live that is able to tune 

    Cheers 
  • tussuck Posts: 2391
    Melbourne
    Motor Head tussuck
    27 Nov 2019 10:56 PM
    I run a Thundermax with Autotune on my Sporty and its the bees knees.  Easy to tune and not rocket science.
  • fatbat Posts: 2973
    Forum Legend fatbat
    28 Nov 2019 06:38 AM
    If you're not happy with the way it runs and you've got that kind of power (I also have the same bike with 117inch top end but not many other mods), it either needs re tuning or might run a little rough depending on mods that got you that power. What cams and compression is she running?

    Where are you located? Imho nothing beats a professional dyno tune but you've got to find a good one as there can be a big difference between the good, bad and ugly in tuners 
  • Birtyyy Posts: 174
    Sunshine Coast
    Stock Poster Birtyyy
    28 Nov 2019 12:28 PM
    I have a Vance & Hines tuner with autotune on mine and I love it 
    BUT
    If I was making that sort of power I would not be autotuning, I would be paying the money to get a professional to tune it on a dyno.
    Just my personal opinion.
  • tussuck Posts: 2391
    Melbourne
    Motor Head tussuck
    28 Nov 2019 04:24 PM
    Quoting Birtyyy on 28 Nov 2019 12:28 PM
    I have a Vance & Hines tuner with autotune on mine and I love it 
    BUT
    If I was making that sort of power I would not be autotuning, I would be paying the money to get a professional to tune it on a dyno.
    Just my personal opinion.
    Agree.... generic works well on the Stock Sporty I have and its got to be within 98% of nailed with the Autotune.

    BUT with a high perf build and a lot of extras an aftermarket ECU + Autotune + a proper Dyno to set the baseline would be the best route.  Or even forego the Autotune if your Dyno man is good....(but the autotune is always nice to have)

    Sometime you can email the ECU blokes with your build specs and often as not they will have a basemap for that setup.  After-all every man and his dog pretty much run an aftermarket ECU.  You could even ask their tech support folks before you purchase just to make sure.
  • Mono Posts: 12
    Qld
    Stock Poster Mono
    29 Nov 2019 11:02 AM
    Quoting fatbat on 28 Nov 2019 06:38 AM
    If you're not happy with the way it runs and you've got that kind of power (I also have the same bike with 117inch top end but not many other mods), it either needs re tuning or might run a little rough depending on mods that got you that power. What cams and compression is she running?

    Where are you located? Imho nothing beats a professional dyno tune but you've got to find a good one as there can be a big difference between the good, bad and ugly in tuners 
    I'm in North qld , near cairns 
    259 high comp
  • Mono Posts: 12
    Qld
    Stock Poster Mono
    29 Nov 2019 11:05 AM
    Quoting Birtyyy on 28 Nov 2019 12:28 PM
    I have a Vance & Hines tuner with autotune on mine and I love it 
    BUT
    If I was making that sort of power I would not be autotuning, I would be paying the money to get a professional to tune it on a dyno.
    Just my personal opinion.
    Yeah I know a dyno tune should be better but there's no one where I live to tune it, the last tune I'm not happy with it .
    It's rough , 200 kays to a tank on the highway ,
    Yeah it goes but it's not as good as it could be , 
    I don't really wanna ride it 600 kays to get a tune then home 

© 2020 - 1.0.4.2